Non-Diving Specialties

Apparently, there is a difference between diving specialties and non-diving specialties.

I was very excited after completing my 24th dive, because I thought I qualified for SSI Advanced Open Water Diver recognition. The requirements are 24 logged dives and 4 specialties.

Or, so I thought.

It turns out that the React Right specialty is not a “diving specialty,” and therefore does not count as a specialty for recognition purposes. I did not know that. I have not seen that anywhere on the Internet.

React Right is a prerequisite for the Diver Stress & Rescue course, nothing more. Therefore, Stress & Rescue will count as my 4th specialty, following Enriched Air Nitrox (EANx), Perfect Buoyancy, and Science of Diving.

So, it’s not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but since I have not seen this anywhere before, I’m sharing it in hopes of helping others manage their expectations. In my case, I simply celebrated one week prematurely.

2 thoughts on “Non-Diving Specialties

Add yours

  1. oh, I thought Diver Stress & Rescue is even higher level than AOW. I am AOW certified already and I have been thinking to take the Diver Stress & Rescue certification but always contemplating between taking another course or just enjoy the dives 😀


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: